Q&A with John Part (with questions from Darts Nutz forum members)!

John Part has been one of the leading figures in darts over the last three decades. He has won three World Championship titles, in 1994, 2003 and 2008 respectively and he memorably defeated Phil ‘The Power’ Taylor in the PDC World Championship final of 2003 to end the now sixteen times world champion’s run of 8 successive World titles. The ‘Darth Maple’ also won the Las Vegas Desert Classic title in 2006 and twice reached the final of the World Matchplay and World Grand Prix. Part is still active on the circuit, and, after winning back his Tour Card at the start of this year after losing it a few weeks earlier, still plays in PDC events as well as his native North American and CDC events. In a change to the usual tradition of my interviews, I have offered the opportunity to ask questions to the members of the Darts Nutz Darts Forum, with all questions coming from them. Here they are:

The G – What are some of your fond memories way back in the 1990’s playing Trillium, Pickering and Scarborough City Leagues. I played on Dougie Scanlan’s (RIP) team and recall a lot of great battles between the two of you? Remember these?

 Doug Scanlon and I were partners as often as opponents. His ton machine ability always put him in the hunt and when the doubles went in he had many titles.

John-Part-001
John’s jubilant on the Ally Pally stage (Courtesy: Alchetron)

sjmattitude1982 – Whose idea was it for you to commentate on TV in the 90s and beyond?

 BBC were trying out a few players in the booth to work alongside Tony Green, as Sid Waddell had moved over to Sky and the WDC after working the first post split year on the BDO World Championship.

 Who do you reckon will rise up in the next 4-5 years to become Canada’s new hope in darts?

It’s too hard to pick who might rise up in Canada, or anywhere else for that matter. There are potential players of all ages to make a big impression. Jeff Smith is an example of that.

mc1958 – What was going through your mind at the World Cup Of Darts when your partner, John Norman Jr, was giving it large on stage after every throw, and more importantly did you have a word with him afterwards?

 John Norman Jr. was determined to be positive. It may have seemed over the top to those watching, but to me I was more concerned with my own performance, as I had some issues with my hand. We played as a team, and it was 100% put in of what we had. Of course we talked plenty, but he was more concerned and I was more about moving forward and learning from it.

johnpart
John is confident in the Canadian darts’ next generation (Courtesy: Mirror)

mkruitenberg – What has been the hardest time in your darting career?

 I think the hardest point of my career would be if I couldn’t compete at all. Thankfully, I’m still getting to play. Probably my hardest loss was the 2002 World Matchplay final, losing to Phil 18-16, after I was 16-15 up. Again it was only half a year later I made a better memory.

nixer55 – What is your fondest darting memory?

Beating Phil in the 2003 WC final is my greatest moment.

Berlin180 – In your opinion, what reasons other than travel expenses explain why there are so few top players in the BDO and PDC from North America?

 Other than travel expenses, which cannot be dismissed, there are no ranking events in North America, so it is an even more outlandish prospect to create a “top” player from North America. The CDC is providing a platform for the growth of players competitively but is still in its infancy.

 WhiskyPops – Could you give us your vision on the long-term future of darts?

 Darts has the potential to reach every corner of the earth, for players to develop, and the game to grow. It is in a way poor man’s golf. It has a beautiful combination of physical and mental challenges. With continued growth and exposure it could explode exponentially at any time.

 drolmaeye – Interested in your thoughts on the CDC? Any chance you will continue competing in the CDC in the future?

 The CDC will hopefully grow. It is instrumental in the growth of darts in North America to have an accessible pro platform. The beauty of it at this stage is that tour card holders and hopefuls alike are allowed to participate. It’s easy to take pot shots at this or that but the CDC team are a dedicated hard-working bunch who share the player’s vision of what darts should be here in North America.

 Griff 10 – Hi John, I’ve noticed in the last 3 doubles competitions for Canada at the PDC World Cup you have had 3 different partners: Jeff Smith, John Norman Jr and Ken MacNeil. My question is how do you qualify to be on the Canadian team part of the doubles? Do you have to come back to Canada and qualify for the tournament?

 The PDC World Cup teams are primarily based on the PDC world rankings, and failing that it becomes invitational. Canada does have a large amount of talent just below the veneer of being professional and I think you will see that in years to come with a variety of players getting their chance.

56e99fb6abf91af2c3ba0c2db5e66d9b
John holds high his 1994 BDO World Championship trophy, the first of his three World titles (Courtesy: john part.tv)

 Ollie Jedediah Steele – Do you think you will be able to challenge for a 4th World Championship in the coming years?  

 A fourth World title is possible. I wouldn’t have the first three if I didn’t believe that.

 The G – What was your thinking process in designing your new Unicorn Signature darts? How close are they to your past Unicorn darts, and is there anything taken from your Cosmo experience and your Death Sabre design? What weight are you using?

 My new Unicorn darts are based loosely on my old hero darts, with a few bells and whistles (like extra grip at the back of the barrel) to try to help me out a bit on my release consistency. They look spectacular and as a dart fan and nerd myself, I love them. They are 24 grams.

djb – When you’re competing in a big match, what are you concentrating on while you’re at the oche? Is it your swing, your grip, your tempo, or something else entirely?    

 When I’m competing I’m hopefully concentrating on the target and nothing else. If I’m aware of a problem I may then concentrate on that specific area as well as the target but that is not ideal.

 wrexhamexile – You’ve done a few exhibitions in Canada with BDO player Jeff (The Silencer) Smith, so had a chance to spend some time with him. Where do you rate him as a player, PDC material?

Jeff Smith is an excellent professional and has a mindset to handle any scenario. He was a PDC tour card holder before a chance through the NDFC at the BDO World Masters week set him down his current path. He can do as he chooses in my eyes, nothing but class.

Nucky – Hey buddy, I’m a big fan of yours. I remember your win at the Circus Tavern!!! So, if I can make it on the PDC tour, how can I keep my pogey claim open?

 Nucky, if you get your tour card, you will need much more than benefits to survive. It’s big business with a big outlay. We only notice the prosperous.

A big thanks to John for giving me and the Darts ‘Nutz’ the opportunity to ask him some questions and I wish him all the best for the future. Thanks for reading and catch you later!

Leave a comment